Following a 4-3 penalty shootout victory over Niger Tornadoes on Sunday, last year’s finalists, Kano Pillars emerged as winners of the 2019 Aiteo Cup.

The game, played at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium Kaduna, saw the Sai Masu Gida pick their very first League Cup title.

The victory was a consolation for the Kano club, who were beaten in the final in the 2018 edition by Enugu Rangers. But it was not so for Niger Tornadoes, who have now lost twice in the final, having lost also on penalties to Akwa United back in 2017.

Sunday’s final ended goalless in regulation time as both teams fought hard but were unable to register a goal. Pillars then went on to win in the shootouts, converting four of their six kicks, while Tornadoes only converted three.

The winners are entitled to N25 million as prize money while the runners-up took home N10 million.

Earlier on Sunday, Nasarawa Amazons dethroned Rivers Angels 4-3 on penalties to win the 2019 Women’s edition.

Rivers Angels dominated possession but were unable to find a way past a resolute Nasarawa Amazons defence.

After a goalless draw at the end of regulation time, the defending champions brought on Super Falcons goalkeeper, Tochukwu Oluehi who replaced her international teammate, Chiamaka Nnadozie, but she failed to make any save in the shootout.

Nasarawa Amazons scored all their five kicks, while River Angels converted four right there at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna.

Not yet a Bet9ja Member? Sign up today and get your 100% Welcome Bonus, the biggest welcome offer in Nigeria.

Source: (Ripplesnigeria)