Super Eagles striker and the winner of the AFCON 2019 golden boot, OdionIghalo was on Friday named in the team of the tournament selected by CAF after his five goals at the mundial helped Nigeria to a third-place finish in Egypt.

Algeria, winners of the 32nd edition of the Africa Cup of Nations have four players listed in the team selected by CAF, while runners-up Senegal have the highest number of players who made the cut with five named in the team.

Yassine Meriah of Tunisia and Nigeria’s Ighalo complete the list.

It came as no surprise that Djamel Belmadi won the coach of the tournament following his team’s victory in Egypt.

The full list:

Goalkeeper: Rais M’Bolhi (Algeria)

Defenders: Lamine Gassama (Senegal), Yassine Meriah (Tunisia), Youssouf Sabaly (Senegal), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal)

Midfielders: Adlene Guediora (Algeria), Idrissa Gana Gueye (Senegal), Ismael Bennacer (Algeria)

Forwards: Riyad Mahrez (Algeria), Sadio Mane (Senegal), Odion Ighalo (Nigeria)

Coach: Djamel Belmadi (Algeria)

Not yet a Bet9ja Member? Sign up today and get your 100% Welcome Bonus, the biggest welcome offer in Nigeria.

Source: (